The health and safety of children and students, as well as staff, continues to be the top priority of the Ministry of Education. It is critical that safety measures are in place to ensure that high quality education can still be accessed.

Updated COVID-19 guidance exists for educational institutes. You can download it below.

Download Now

 

The safety protocols for schools are included in the Ministry of Education’s COVID-19 Guidance for Educational Institutions. The document can be found here.  Please also refer to Public Health guidance here.

Anyone who feels unwell (children /staff/carers) should not attend an educational institution. They should contact Public Health at any of the following telephone numbers:

  • 1-800-534-8600
  • 947-3077
  • 925-6327
If a suspected case of COVID-19 is identified in your child’s school/institution, the school/institution will:
  • Notify Public Health of a suspected case of student
  • Separate the student from the main student body in a secure and comfortable environment until released to the parent/guardian
  • Ensure the student is supervised at all times in line with child protection   guidelines
  • Notify the Director of the Department of Education Services (DES) or Ministry of Education

In the case of a member of staff, the individual will contact Public Health and self-isolate as a precautionary measure.

The Ministry of Education has provided all students enrolled in Government schools with digital devices (laptops/IPads), procured a variety of learning software and made LTE modems available for those most in need of this assistance to facilitate a smooth transition to remote learning as needed. Students who are unwell and at home are not expected to continue with learning until they are feeling better.

Schools do not usually offer onsite vaccination. The list of vaccination clinics/sites can be found here.

Parents of government school students who have questions may contact the principal or director of their child’s school using the following contact information:

School

Principal / Director

Email

Telephone No.

Edna Moyle Primary

Danielle Duran

danielle.duran@gov.ky

926-8343

East End Primary

Allison Greaves

allison.greaves@gov.ky

938-8971

Theoline McCoy Primary

Kimberly Watler

kimberly.watler@gov.ky

925-5464

Cayman Islands Further Education Centre (CIFEC)

Mr. Pedro Lazzari

plazzari@cifec.edu.ky

925-6386

Savannah Primary

Delton Pedley

delton.pedley@gov.ky

925-0164

Clifton Hunter High

Richard Wildman

richard.wildman@gov.ky

936-0471

Lighthouse

Janice Headley

jheadley@lhs.edu.ky

916-7139

George Town Primary

Sharon Campbell-Danvers

sharon.campbell-danvers@gov.ky

925-5439

Sir John A Cumber Primary

Jovanna Wright

jovanna.wright@gov.ky

916-7584

Red Bay Primary

Ryan Dale

rdale@rbps.edu.ky

926-1217

Prospect Primary

Patricia Taylor

patricia.taylor@gov.ky

916-8318

John Gray High

Jon Clark

jclark@jghs.edu.ky

938-8537

Layman E Scott Snr High

Devon Bowen

dbowen@lshs.edu.ky

926-3045

Creek & Spot Bay Primary

Margaret Juman

margaret.juman@gov.ky

925-7232

West End Primary

Susan Aaron- Abel

susan.aaron-abel@gov.ky

916-2698

Little Cayman Education Services

Veronica Juman Khan

vjuman-khan@lces.edu.ky

925-7239

 

More Questions?

Visit our FAQs page

Visit the Department of Education Services website here.

Visit the Ministry of Education website here.