Educational Institutions Are Currently Closed 

All schools, early childhood education centres, universities, tutoring centres, technical and vocational training centres, etc. are closed until further notice and for the duration of the 2019/2020 academic school year. The Ministry of Education continues to monitor the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Registration for the 2020/2021 School Year for Government Schools Will Open 27 April and Close 26 June. Read more

Both government and privately-run schools are to implement distance learning techniques and tools to ensure continuation of learning among their students.

Government schools have provided educational instruction through a combination of channels. These include paper-based learning packages, a daily timetable, access to online platforms such as the Raz Kids, EDU365 Everest, Study Ladders, Purple Mash, Oxford Owl, Epic as well as access to Power Maths, English and Science resources online.

Parents/students should contact their school to receive instructions and materials for home learning.

Teachers will continue to communicate directly with parents and students through methods such as telephone calls, WhatsApp messages, emails, Class Dojo, Edomodo, Google Classroom, Skype and Zoom.

Parents of government school students who have not received home learning materials or who have additional questions may contact the principal or director of their child’s school using the contact information below:

School

Principal / Director

Email

Telephone No.

Edna Moyle Primary

Danielle Duran

danielle.duran@gov.ky

926-8343

East End Primary

Allison Greaves

allison.greaves@gov.ky

938-8971

Theoline McCoy Primary

Kimberly Watler

kimberly.watler@gov.ky

925-5464

Cayman Islands Further Education Centre (CIFEC)

Delores Thompson

delores.thompson@gov.ky

925-6386

Savannah Primary

Delton Pedley

delton.pedley@gov.ky

925-0164

Clifton Hunter High

Richard Wildman

richard.wildman@gov.ky

936-0471

Lighthouse

Janice Thorpe

janice.thorpe@gov.ky

916-7139

George Town Primary

Sharon Campbell-Danvers

sharon.campbell-danvers@gov.ky

925-5439

Sir John A Cumber Primary

Jovanna Wright

jovanna.wright@gov.ky

916-7584

Red Bay Primary

Ryan Dale

rdale@rbps.edu.ky

926-1217

Prospect Primary

Matthew Read

matthew.read@gov.ky

916-8318

John Gray High

Jon Clark

jclark@jghs.edu.ky

938-8537

Layman E Scott Snr High

Devon Bowen

dbowen@lshs.edu.ky

926-3045

Creek & Spot Bay Primary

Claudette Lazzari

claudette.lazzari@gov.ky

925-7232

West End Primary

Paul Samuel

paul.samuel@gov.ky

916-2698

Little Cayman Education Services

Veronica Juman Khan

vjuman-khan@lces.edu.ky

925-7239

Parents/students should contact their school to receive specific instructions and materials for information about their external exams.

For government secondary schools, parents/student should note the following key points:

City and Guilds examinations currently remain on schedule.

Examinations previously scheduled by Cambridge, AQA, WJEC and Pearson are all cancelled as indicated by their respective boards.

Examination centres are awaiting the process for awarding grades for the above mentioned exams.

The Caribbean Examination Council (CXC) announced a number of changes to the May/June 2020 examinations schedule. 

  • CXC has revised the exams schedule to July 2020.
  • CXC continues to be guided by the protocols set by the governments in the region.
  • In person or on-site moderation across all practical subjects is suspended until further notice.
  • Paper 1 for all exams will be delivered electronically, and the results will be used in conjunction with School Based Assessments (SBAs) to provide students with an assessed grade. The exceptions to this are Modern Languages, Visual Arts and Human and Social Biology.
  • Completion of SBA practicals have been rescheduled and schools will be advised of the revised deadline for submission.
  • Online resources geared towards exam preparation are available at learninghub.cxc.org; in addition, the Department of Education Services and the Ministry of Education are working with FLOW and One on One Educational Services Ltd in Jamaica, to provide access to additional content.

 

How To Talk To Kids About COVID-19

 

 

 

More Questions?

Visit our FAQs page

Visit the Department of Education Services website here.

Visit the Ministry of Education website here.